Aardvark Art Glass


My god, the heat.
July 17, 2012, 11:19 am
Filed under: Bloggidy Blog

I got last weekend off from the Farmer’s Market because the behemoth Art Fair on the Square was occupying the space. That means I had lot less to do and I’ve finally run out of excuses for not writing something here. So, how’s by you? We’re all OK. Me and Don and the hedgehog survived early July heat spell by moving into the downstairs into a large nest of blankets in front of the air conditioner. During our waking hours, T-Bone ran free through the downstairs allowing him to choose whether or not he wanted to be in the air conditioned room or near his cage in the foyer. That was pretty great. Once when I went to the refrigerator to get some ham T-Bone was sitting there on the floor and I said “Do you want some ham, T-Bone?”. He sniffed vigorously at the smell coming out of the refrigerator, whatever that smell was. I interpreted his interest as a “yes” and gave him a tiny piece of ham which he devoured and then skittered away. So cute, and so like a regular pet.

As far as I can tell, T-Bone kept his pooping confined to the cage during his free run of the living room. So there really was no downside to having a hedgehog loose in the house. That was probably the high point of my summer.

In other heat news, we bought one of those 10 ft. inflatable swimming pools and installed it in our pals Aaron and Erika’s backyard. We were going to put it in our backyard but the yard is too tiny and does not afford us the privacy we require to soak while wearing pirate hats and playing with wind-up bath toys. We probably could have crammed it in but it would block access to the tractor tire garden and make it difficult to get to the plants if they caught on fire, which they might. (My plants, by the way, are another story–I bought three tomato plants from a nun at the Farmer’s Market. Two are normal cherry tomatoes but the third is some kind of puny ornamental plant that grows about ten inches high and produces tomatoes the size of your fingernail. I didn’t know there were ornamental tomato plants–no vines, just a little bush with tiny, tiny tomatoes. Who would engineer something like that? Someone who’s not very hungry, I guess.) But back to the pool, it is the best $80. we’ve spent on anything. Everyone should have one of those.

In work news, I started making rings again and they are proving to be popular in a positive and not so positive way.

A very unassuming woman stole this one after it was on my stand for only about 4 hours, which is probably a record. In these situations, people often talk about Karma in relation to the thief getting some come-uppance, which is admittedly a fun and comforting thing to think about. But, I think that if you believe in Karma, then wasn’t something awful I did responsible for me suffering the loss of the ring in the first place? Am I thinking about this right?  Because that’s not comforting to me at all. Real revenge is more comforting, but it’s not very practical since I’ll probably never see her again. The solution here is to keep an eye on your shit when the 40 year old, middle class ladies are around. Then you won’t have any problems Karmic or otherwise.

In other news, I finally got around to listing more stuff in Aardvark’s Etsy store.   I could have listed more during my free time but I didn’t because I have a swimming pool to sit in. There are some nice knobs and fish and what have you. Go take a look, if you want.

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I agree with you on this whole karma thing. I am not sure where the idea of instant karma as retribution came from. But, it just doesn’t make sense. Simply saying ‘karma will get you’ is an act of bad karma, if those are the rules you are applying. Gah. You just ran into a selfish woman with poor ethics.

Comment by wundermary

Hey Mary
I’m glad we are on the same page about the karma thing– I thought I was solitary in that belief. That lady’s act was the culmination of a phenomenon I like to call “Dick Week” where in multiple strangers complicate my life through random acts of dickness for a period of seven days. It seems to be over now.

Comment by cathylybarger

Ha, I sorta like the idea of “Dick Week”. Put like that, it becomes a burden you must bear for a short period of time, in order to get to the good stuff.

Comment by wundermary

I blame John Lennon for “instant karma”.
Always made me think of a cheap coffee substitute anyway. (Imagine the ads …)

Comment by phil

That John Lennon was a wise man.There’s a couple of people I’d like to give a cup of that to.

Comment by cathylybarger

wow that is an incredible ring. Holy cow.
I have never said anything about Karma and do not believe in it, possibly because of all the crap I have been through. I cannot imagine WHO I was. Then the other day one person who is a friend of mine said maybe I was luckiest person in the world in a past life. That was a bright thought that day.If you believe in that stuff.
RE: Pools:
We had one of those pools and loved it… I wrote a very funny post on my old journal, before anyone knew me, about the strange square crop circles at our house. Of course they were caused by moving the pool and having dead grass appear whenever we movied it and refilled it.
I was cracking myself up when I wrote it, but one of my older kids said, “Mom–you need to establish your crediblity as a serious jewelry designer before you start cracking jokes.”
I understood in my limited way, and shelved it. However the thing is, I wrote it, and the only reason I write anything is to entertain myself so it was great.

I love T Bone. I love everything ABOUT T BONE. Have you made a T Bone T shirt yet?????
love you, jean

Comment by Jean Yates

We had to level off the lawn and then put sand down before installing the pool. Surely, since we dug it up, the loss of grass in that area of the lawn will be permanent, but what a mighty lawn circle it will be! If a mother ship was going to visit anywhere it would be Aaron and Erika’s house.

I wish you lived closer to me so we could walk T-Bone together–then you could fully experience his greatness. No t-shirt of him yet but I did send a picture of him into the 2013 Cute Overload calendar. Hopefully he’ll get in.

Comment by cathylybarger

Hey send me a preview of the picture. T Bone …let’s just say I am a T Bone groupie.
I was laughing last night at your incredible interview which you have here on your site (with a prestigious magazine or something). It is so wonderfully fun and funny that I kept waking poor Jim up, I was laughing so hard. BUT your talent is obvious always, throughout the interview. Amazing how you balance that everything.
xox jean

Comment by jny_jeanpretty




Leave a Reply

