Aardvark Art Glass


Happy Halloween
November 2, 2011, 1:13 pm
Filed under: Bloggidy Blog

I was a dancing box of cigarettes for Halloween.

Sometimes, I was a peeing box of cigarettes. Had I known the best shot of me would have been the one on the toilet, I would have worn black underwear. When I get dressed, I never think about people seeing my underwear. I think that’s normal and ultimately a really good way to prepare one’s self for the day. At least there weren’t any holes in this pair.

I got the idea for this costume from this You Tube video. I chose Marlboro cigs over Old Gold because the box design is much simpler and I only had 4 days to make it. This project is noteworthy for several reasons:

1. I got an idea.

2. I decided to make a complex Halloween costume (I have not done this during my entire adult life.)

3. I made the costume all by myself.

4. The costume is very well-constructed and, unlike my awesome sandwich board,  painted exactly the same on both sides. I can’t remember ever painting anything the same way twice for any reason. I’m glad I got over that because I really need to finish that sandwich board–two-sided sandwich board, you got something. One-sided sandwich board, you got dick, and also a lot of people asking you why your sign is painted on only one side.

The event that spurred the creation of this get-up was an annual party put on in part by my shop mate, Missy, at the Howard Academy For Metal Arts in Stoughton, WI. The Howards do not mess around with the party throwing so I didn’t want to mess around with the costume wearing. And I figure dancing cigarettes are entertaining enough that they can be worked into other events throughout the year-New year’s for sure. I don’t know…I have to figure out something because I don’t have the room to store that thing.

 

 

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

It’s a bit big, but you could keep your cancer supplies collection in it. Make a diorama, maybe.

Comment by phil

Yeah, I kind of mis-judged the size of the box when I made it, but the largeness was good–plenty of room to eat and drink inside. Missy’s dad suggested that I wear a black lung costume underneath the box so I could still be costumed after wearing the box became tiresome. I thought that was an awesome and scary idea. Might just do that.

Comment by cathylybarger

I love it. and I love you even though you never write me xox jean

Comment by jean

Excellent illustration — All costumes should be photographed as such. Forget eating and drinking, this is the true test of viability ~

Comment by JerryBerry




Leave a Reply

