Aardvark Art Glass


Just so’s you know…
May 2, 2011, 1:59 pm
Filed under: Bloggidy Blog

The world is ending on May 21. Graduation weekend, which is just my luck. This truck was part of a caravan of four circling the Capitol last Saturday.

If it’s not one thing at the Capitol, it’s another. As long as they’re not right in my movie, I don’t mind the proselytizers so much–but they do generate a lot of litter that blows into my vendor bay. Jehovah’s Witnesses are the worst. I don’t know what it is about religious reading material-people just seem OK with dropping it on the ground instead of the recycling can. The litter issue is sort of a medium size bug I have up my ass. Thanks for letting me share.

But back to the caravan…I thought they were here because Madison is so full of heathens but I guess there’s four sets of these travelling about the country right now, sharing the awesome news. (I looked that up on their website which I’m not going to link to because their beliefs, in my opinion, are fucked-up.) I have to say that I have respect for people who want to deliver a message about which absolutely no one else is on the same page.  I don’t get how gay pride is a sign of the end times, but if you want to say it, be my guest. The subject of the world ending does spark lively conversation among passers by. I don’t know what we would have talked about otherwise.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thanks for the EOTW heads-up, Cathy. May 21st is my wedding anniversary. We’ll have to remember to get to the restaurant early, so we aren’t forced to deal with the apocalypse on an empty stomach.

Comment by Idel

My and Don’s anniversary was the same day as the Royal Wedding. I was kind of hoping the world would end then. Now we’ll be be-set with William and Kate news every year. They have, in my opinion, the much less interesting marriage.

Comment by cathylybarger

I’ve always thought the best thing to do with the EOW people and the “Rapture is coming!” types is to go to them the next day and say, “You were right! It happened!”
Unfortunately, they never see the implication: why are they still here?

Comment by phil

And how! What’s funny about the EOTW phenomena, especially at the Farmer’s Market in Madison, is that it’s presence makes everyone yuk it up–kind of like a party.To strangers, people joke about religion never–unless it’s something really bizarre like this–then this funny mood sets in. I hope the caravan comes back next year.

Comment by cathylybarger




Leave a Reply

