Aardvark Art Glass


thanks for the mints
April 11, 2011, 3:07 pm
Filed under: Bloggidy Blog

For some reason, Google sent me a big box  in the mail. It contained a tiny bowl of  mints each emblazoned with an odd logo. Also, a booklet and a ton of packaging which got tossed immediately.

 

Here’s a close-up of one of the mints:

Since I’m not naturally curious I wasn’t interested in deciphering  the logo’s meaning. I thought it looked very much like an irradiated boob, and that idea nugget gave me the opportunity to make shit up, which is always better than learning something new.

So I made up a story about the mints coming from the radiation unit at University Hospital. They gave me a whole bowl of them, I said, when I finished my treatment. Out of all the people I told this to, do you know how many of them believed me? All of them. That’s a really ineffective logo, Google-no one recognized it. They all believed it was an irradiated boob. Of course I crossed out the Google URL on the mint, but still.

I did finally look it up today and found the teardrop is the “places” icon that points out businesses on Google Maps. Of course! I guess that connection is within the realm of something I would have figured out eventually…but not before the mints were gone and the advertising campaign was completely lost on me.


7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Wow! You are smart! I would have never figured it out!

Comment by Mallory

I had to look it up. When I first got the box I thought it was from the leukemia society.

Comment by cathylybarger

So Google is now putting Place icons on irradiated boobs?

Comment by phil

Well, if you Google map my store (819 E. Johnson St) there is an icon over it and, inside the building, there is not just an irradiated boob but also a person who is a boob. That lends lots-o credibility to my bullshit yarn. Either that or Google shelled out a ton of money for an ad campaign that a lot of people aren’t going to figure out.

Comment by cathylybarger

Uh…maybe they’re using the logo to advertise their new social networking venture…RAM. Random Access Mammary. And you’re the only one who understood it. Way to go, Cathy!

Comment by Idel

Good one, Idel! If I ever get around to making some kind of boob art I may use that for a title.

Comment by cathylybarger

I think people visit your site so much they sent you mints as a reward.

I am so glad you are doing really well , too xoxoxox , me

Comment by Jean




Leave a comment