Aardvark Art Glass


I’m walking!
January 19, 2011, 12:13 pm
Filed under: Bloggidy Blog

Yay! Yay! Yay! Yay! Yay! Yay!Yay! Yay! Yay!Yay! Yay! Yay!Yay! Yay! Yay!Yay! Yay! Yay!Yay! Yay! Yay!Yay! Yay! Yay!Yay! Yay! Yay!Yay! Yay! Yay!Yay! Yay! Yay!Yay! Yay! Yay!Yay! Yay! Yay!

As you can see, I have an air cast on my ankle now. I HEALED MYSELF!!! I am so happy! Also, there is a wallaby sniffing my leg. In our zeal to get my cast off and get poison pumped into my body, we neglected to spray for the wallabies. Now they’re everywhere. (I’m kidding, of course–you can tell that’s not our house because the floors are nice.)

That was the first thing we did after I got the cast off-visit one of Don’s co-worker’s homes that is also a zoo. (The owners are professional Animal Educators who travel places educating children and adults about animals. Neat job? Who even knew that was a job!) They had armadillos, kinkajous, coatis, chinchillas, a kookaburra, snakes, lizards, turtles and a very patient dog that put up with continual sexual harassment from the wallaby. It cheered me right up.

While I was down, which was for a bit, which sucked, I was entertaining the idea of procuring a baby armadillo that I could name Beauford T. Justice. Probably the drugs again. Me and Beauford could have cool adventures digging in the backyard–you know, any activities that don’t involve a lot of heavy reasoning, that sort of thing. I’ve always liked armadillos. Anyway, that was the story in my head that kept me going while I was sitting around at home for the last week and a half. And that’s why we went to the zoo house-to see what armadillos are all about and entertain my weird little fantasy. My armadillo review: They’re cool looking but they’re not very mellow animals. You can pet them but they don’t really understand that petting is supposed to be a positive thing. They don’t seem to think it’s a negative thing, either–they just don’t know what’s going on. It’s sort of awkward. I’ve been told you can’t put a harness on them, but they’re physical shape is such that it seems to me like that would work so I’m not ruling that out. I still kinda want one, but I kinda like that wallaby, too. I wonder if I could teach one to box…

So, in other news, I painted a painting last week.

It’s doodle-y and fun. Tra-la-la. I just wanted to see color.

Here are some things I did today that I could not do before:

1. Went and got coffee at the coffee shop.

2. Picked up something I dropped.

3. Conducted Don’s organ playing with both feet, just like a real conductor. Believe it or not, that is a physical therapy exercise I’ve been instructed to do for 3-5 min every day.

Would you like to see a picture of my ankle? It looks like a manatee flipper.

According to the internets, I had a Webber A fracture. That’s the best one to have because it’s low on the fibula and they don’t have screw anything back together. I know all about ankle fractures and exotic pets now. It’s been a rich week.

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hurray!
And cool friends. I was wondering what you were doing with a wallaby. Thought maybe you’d decided iguanas and hedgehogs weren’t enough.

Sell me your painting. I like it.

Comment by phil

Hey Phil!
The animal people, Noelle and Brian, were crazy for the critters. They breed animals, too and consult with zoos. And, because I’m sure people are wondering, their house was super clean. They have to be regularly USDA inspected to do what they do. So that was a great field trip.

They had a really sweet little bearded dragon that I held. Those are nice little lizards. I could see getting one of those.

I have to hold on to the painting for a while because I want to have prints made of it. That’s what everyone does with their paintings these days and I want to jump on that wagon. But I will keep you in mind for it!

Comment by cathylybarger

Great, thanks.
Glicee prints? I see them a lot now. How light-fast are they?

Bearded dragons do look cool.

Comment by phil

I am exploring the word of prints now. I didn’t know that Gilcees can be printed on canvas and stretched onto a frame just like the original. That must be what that son-of-a hoo-ha Thomas Kincade does with his mass produced “Work”. They say the quality is very good but I didn’t see anything specific about light-fastness. I bet it’s fine-they do so much of this stuff now. I’m going to learn more.

Comment by cathylybarger

How stupid of me–I had no idea you could paint beautiful art. I am dazed by your talent. you kind of remind me of kandinsky–is that the right person? I suck at serious art knowledge. BUT I KNOW WHAT I LIKE!!!
I like energy and ebullience and color–your painting is just like your beads in that way! Very beautiful.

Your ankle looks good. what a pain that must have been during this hard set of treatments. Maybe I shall have to drop Honest Abe down a notch and put you up there as my number one hero. Yes, I am going to do that.

Your posts have benefitted so many people during this tough time for you. I know that isn’t much consolation..but for example, when i come over here your candidness, humor and honest writing is so different from the crap I usually force myself to read on beader blogs. Thank you, Cathy Abe Lybarger.

xoxox jean

PS: I had NO idea what a wallaby looked like and therefore when I saw that photo, I initially thought you had a new form of hedgehog. a really big furry one!

Comment by Jean

I want a glicee too. !!!

Comment by Jean

Hey Cathy,
that’s an awesome painting. You are so imaginative–I wonder if you are the clinic’s most imaginative patient.
I’d have to guess YES.
Here’s a bit of info about armadillos. If they want to cross a river, they have two options: either swim across, or exhale and walk on the bottom. The things you learn in life, huh?
Feel better.
Suzy

Comment by Suzy Hoff




Leave a Reply

