Aardvark Art Glass


crutches suck ass
December 22, 2010, 5:12 pm
Filed under: Bloggidy Blog

Since I got my cast I’ve been hobbling around without my crutches. My ankle doesn’t bother me at all unless I twist it or knock it against the banister when I’m sliding down the stairs on my ass, which, by the way, according to everyone, is the correct way to navigate stairways with a broken ankle. Plus it keeps the center part of your staircase dust-free. But then last week the nurse-lady who gives me my Herceptin told me to I had to use my crutches or I might screw up my ankle. I’m going to take her advice because so little advice has been given to me during this whole process. Mostly you can just carry on along as you aren’t around sick people and don’t eat raw fruit. If you do something wrong, your body with it’s myriad forms of non-verbal communication will put you in your place.

I got a round of antibiotics for my sinuses last week!  FYI: Something needs to be wrong with you before you get antibiotics. Which makes sense, unless you’re like me and you want them all the time because they make you feel impervious to germs. So I’ve had a glorious week of unclogged nose and just dripping instead of pouring mucous. Best week yet, probably. It’s worn off, though. This is the funny thing about having a really runny nose and being on crutches (esp. crutching to work outside in the cold)-you don’t really know your nose is running until it’s contents are actually in your field of vision and by then it’s too late to do anything about it because your hands are gripping crutches. It’s really embarrassing. No  wonder no one says “Hello” to me when I’m crutching to work. One lady said “Oh, dear” when she watched me almost trip over the plastic bag wrapped around my cast. “You don’t know the half of it, Lady,” I said. That was funny because it was true.

Here’s a picture of a chemo bead I made a while ago:

Here are some red and white blood cells:

I know they look exactly like those stuffed giant microbes but putting eyes on things is something that comes naturally to a lot of people.

Here’s a “Futurama” homage: a Buggalo sculpture. He has no health care of his own so I put him inside a pressure cuff at the doctor’s office:

He always ate right and didn’t clown around behind the wheel so his blood pressure was stellar.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

you will feel like a lol (little old lady) but try a wheeled walker! Much more steady than crutches, don’t have to balance and you can carry stuff if you put a bag or basket (fanny pack works well, too) on it. It worked well for me!
much safer in snow country, too!

Comment by Sara Stone

Thanks Sara
Someone was telling me about a wheeled scooter thing where you have one knee up and you propel it with your good foot. That sounded kinda fun. I already feel like an old lady so the walker thing might work too!

Comment by cathylybarger




Leave a Reply

