Aardvark Art Glass


got my port
October 17, 2010, 4:09 pm
Filed under: Bloggidy Blog

Yeah, the port was supposed to be some super easy thing but it kinda hurts. I guess it is a big plastic button jammed under my skin so I’m not sure what I was expecting.  Anyway, now that I’ve got that, I’m starting treatment tomorrow (the 18th) -TCH (Taxotare, Carboplatin Herceptin) once every  3 weeks for 6 rounds with Herceptin infusions every week. Cancer is such a hassle, you guys. I hope like hell you never get it.

I got my hair cut really short in anticipation of it falling out in a few weeks. I can tell already that I’m not going to miss it much-hair is really a time and money suck. So, don’t let the door hit you in the ass on the way out, hair. Eyebrows, on the other hand, I kind of want to keep, but probably won’t. I’ve been shopping around for the stick-on kind. If mine fall off I want to apply fake ones at a downward angle so that I always look angry or disapproving. Then service will shape up around here.

Steroids and water on on the menu tonight. Zoom, zoom! I feel peppy. Steroids are a sometimes food. I have to take them now to avoid possible allergic reactions from tomorrow’s million dollar cocktail. This first infusion is supposed to take 4 hours. I should have learned to knit, doggone it. I think we can watch a movie during the drip but I’ll wager that movies with a lot of screaming and explosions are not on the table. The Carbone Cancer clinic is one somber zone. Because we are children, we call it the Hambone Cancer Clinic. Is it ok to joke about the cancer clinic? Only if it’s funny. Same as everything.

Later on, guys. I expect to be down for a while after this one but should post in a week or so.

 

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

They’ll probably give you some really good anti-nausea stuff. You will probably be fine until the weekend, when the anti-nausea stuff is over. Fortify yourself with ginger! There is still time to take up knitting.
Hope this goes well.

Comment by Mary

Weird. Firefox window just vanished …
It’s Halloween – what better time for Godzilla and Halloween than a chemotherapy drip?
Try a portable CD/MP3 player and a “have to concentrate on this” book. Worked for 2+ hour platelet donations, ought to work for a 4 hour drip.

Comment by phil

I can’t knit either but I am very impressed by those who do. Movies as you know always appeal to me, as does music. Your updates are great. love you, jean

Comment by jean Yates




Leave a Reply

