Aardvark Art Glass


Did you guys see that?
June 3, 2010, 12:04 am
Filed under: Bloggidy Blog

There was a Google ad for Terminix up on my blog. Flash Player required. Funny! Don pointed it out to me today. I don’t know how long it was there. I didn’t ok it and WordPress isn’t even supposed to have ads on their blogs so I don’t know how the hell it got there. Anyone ever have an unsolicited ad show up on their blog? Why would anyone want an ad on this blog? There’s only, like, eight people reading it. I don’t get how that works…at all. I’ll forget about it soon. It’s just intensely interesting to me right now.

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Apparently WordPress does allow ads to run on your site and they don’t need to ask. Since I am paying for this blog, this does surprise me a little. “Note: To support the service (and keep free features free), we also sometimes run advertisements. We’ve tested a lot of different ad providers and currently use Google AdSense and Skimlinks. We try hard to make the ads discreet and effective and only run them in limited places. If you would like to completely eliminate ads from appearing on your blog, we offer the No-Ads Upgrade.”

That’s really funny. It’s been my experience that the terms “discreet” and “effective” are mutually exclusive. That bug ad was not discreet, either-it said cockroaches can carry salmonella and there were cockroaches moving around in the background. It was impossible to look at anything else. I wanted to blog about my strawberries and my lettuce today but, I don’t know, both of those things can carry salmonella too. Don’t know what they’ll put up after that.

Comment by cathylybarger

so, wordpress.com doesn’t let individuals put their own code for ads on their sites but they’ll insert their own on a whim? and then you need to pay to NOT have them there? very nice.

Comment by Lori G

They said that if you had a 25,000 hit per month site you could have ads run and split the revenue 50/50 with WordPress. So there’s that, anyway. What I don’t get is why they would sell ad space on a blog where no one is going to see it. I’ve had this blog for almost three years and I don’t have 25,000 hits on it. Not a good deal for anyone, it sounds like.

Comment by cathylybarger

Cathy, please note, right after your blog complaint about these intrusive and unsolicited ads, right before the comments section for same blog entry, there is currently an AD! 😛

It says:

Ads by Google
Shutterstock® Photos
10 Million Royalty-Free Images. Download any image, use forever. http://www.Shutterstock.com

Just FYI! 😉

ANNIE 🙂

p.s.: I’ve been leaving comments now for some time, this time it insisted on my relogging my name and my e-mail info all over again before it would allow me a comment (did you recently upgrade or change your blog settings?) Just wondering!

Comment by A. Calderwood

I didn’t change anything. I used to have to re-type my information all the time when I posted on other people’s blogs so that seems normal to me. I think eventually I ran out of ways to spell my name and stopped trying to post.

Shutterstock, not so bad. It’s better than pest control. They must put them up for an hour or two at a time, I guess.

Wow, 50 hits today. I could almost sell advertising.

Comment by cathylybarger

I missed the ads, but then I cheat.
If you run Firefox, get Adblock, that will block almost all of these ads. NoScript prevents websites from running applications in your browser on their own — java, javascript, flash, and so on. That way you can chose which websites to allow in.
This is for Firefox (Windows & Mac), I imagine there are similar add ons for the other browsers, but I don’t know.

Comment by phil




Leave a Reply

