Aardvark Art Glass


The Regretsy Side-Show
March 30, 2010, 12:33 pm
Filed under: Bloggidy Blog

Well, we’ve got Gallery Night coming up again on May 7th (5-9pm). Normally I don’t do anything for it that requires effort but this time I’m going to make an exception. I’ve been really inspired recently by a bunch of interesting individuals I’ve found through the Etsy/Regretsy nexus. Many of them appear in April Winchell’s soon to be released book Regretsy: Where DIY Meets WTF. I have a bead in the book ,too. You should buy it (the book, that is). It’s cheap as hell and it’s going to be really funny.

Anyway, back to this show thing – because it is very small, a section of wall and some display area, it is indeed a side-show. The opening will be May 7 and it will be up for a month. At the opening we’ll have the book for sale and Robin Crider (Hi Bird) will be there selling her magnificent embroidered toilet paper and embroidered maxi-pad bookmarks.  We have attendance of around 100 people on Gallery Night but ultimately, I think this show is going to be more for my own amusement than anything, but you never know. Everyone who is sending something in is doing me a solid, personally. With the exception on the octopus project, which was also Regretsy-inspired, it’s been a while since I found work this entertaining.

So far, on board is Denny Pinkham, creator of the “Say What?” Guy. He’s painting up something special for the show. Dark Vomit, creator of the most shit-stirring Christmas card I’ve ever seen, is sending in two pieces. Frankenkitty has never been featured on Regretsy but I found her through an ad on the site and I love her work . I bought one of her prints and borrowed another.Cappysue, the gal who created the above painting of a big vagina stepping on a bug, is sending in an odd sampler and an ever odder tote bag. We’ve got some jewelry from Sofa City, multiple Obama eggs from Eggenius, 3 donkeys from Pomegranite80, squirrel paw earrings from Custom Creature and finally, my Frog on a Ham Bead. The very one that was sitting in my Etsy store on and off for a year and a half. Thank goodness no one bought it.

In addition to the various and sundry arts, there will be live music, free beer and snacks, a pretty iguana to admire and bead-making demonstrations from 7-9pm. If everything works out this time I may do this again in October. I really regret not thinking of a Regretsy show early enough to have it included in the Gallery Night flyer and on the Madison Museum of Contemporary Art website. We’ll get ’em next time. Then we’ll really look legit.

It’s best that you come to one of these pretty soon because it’s only a matter of time before something stupid happens and the whole free beer thing becomes an issue. I give it a year.

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This is fantastic. I look forward to being there.

Comment by HiBird - Robin

You are awesome. We look forward to having you.

Comment by cathylybarger

Thanks so much for including me and all the folks work togther is going to be so neat. The whole thing sounds like a real ball 🙂

Comment by cappysue

It will be fun. I don’t know if anyone is going to get the overall concept-inside jokes are a big part of Regretsy. It’s hard to walk in on it in the middle and get it. But if people just grasp the part about reasonably priced artwork it will be okay.

Comment by cathylybarger

this is so great! thanks for including me!!!

Comment by erin

Thanks so much for accepting my late entry of an Ice Cream Headache headband! Can’t wait to see pictures of it on your Phrenology head 🙂

Comment by Cybele

No problem! I’m really glad you got in touch with me. I love the headband. I’m sure it will make the Phrenology head feel pretty…or something.

Comment by cathylybarger




Leave a Reply

