Aardvark Art Glass


Night of the…WTF?
February 26, 2010, 3:45 pm
Filed under: Bloggidy Blog

I made an octopus with “Love/Hate” tentacles sitting on a bible because I think  Robert Mitchum’s performance as the psychotic preacher in “Night of the Hunter” deserves an homage. That’s a great movie.  I am especially enamored with the part when he makes his tattooed hands wrestle each other. Who will win-love or hate? I’m not going to tell you. You’ll have to see the movie. Especially that part.

Here’s a picture of Bob Mitchum from the movie:

I guess my hat is out of proportion-or maybe it’s Mitchum’s head. Perhaps it’s the octopodes’ head. Say, did you know that in 1939 Mitchum appeared in a play called “Dear Octopus”? I just found that out two seconds ago. Now you know as much about Robert Mitchum’s relationship to the octopus as I do.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I absolutely love that movie, too! I once recommended it to someone I worked with who went out and rented it. She then skeptically quizzed me about what it was that I liked about it so much. Same planet; different worlds. Anyway, that bead is hysterical!

Comment by Mary

Thanks Mary-
I was wearing this in Tucson and had to explain to each person what it was about and show them the love/hate wrestling thing. NO ONE remembered the movie. Then they’d say “What’s he sitting on? a cake?” I told Don that I thought about one in every 500 people was going to get it but when one person got it, it was going to be really great. We’re still waiting on that person, in person. Super obscure reference beads are the best. They don’t sell but I guess that’s why I’ve got fish.

Comment by cathylybarger




Leave a Reply

