Aardvark Art Glass


the amazing goddamn octopus
January 8, 2010, 3:41 pm
Filed under: Bloggidy Blog

You wouldn’t know it by looking at my Etsy but I’ve been torching a lot. The octopus/jar project. I’m still loving the jar part–someone requested a jar of brains sans octopus today. So that’s encouraging-it’s 50% marketable, anyway. For a myriad of reasons the octopus part is a lot harder.

Here’s a picture of a real octopus opening a real jar. Mine is never going to look anything like this:

How could you not want to think about this all day? It’s interesting as hell. I wonder how many things they tried to make him work before they settled on the screw-top jar? And why?  What would happen if they put one of the octopuses’ offspring in one jar and a hundred-dollar bill in the other? Does he need to get a treat to open it or is just getting it open reward enough? (Please don’t answer these questions. Facts will only get in the way of the octopus project.)

More recent octopus news:

They gather coconut shells and make shelters out of them. This is quite remarkable but if they were really smart, like people, they’d sort them according to cup size and turn them into novelty brassieres. We’d probably elect them mayor then. And they would deserve it.

Here is my model octopus. It’s one of the Failed Legends ornaments. I don’t own any hatless octopi:

And here are some of my failed beads:

So far we have pickles, brains, potpourri, a pet fish and a clean urine sample. Maybe today will be the day.

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Are they “failed beads” because the octopuses haven’t managed to get the jars open (yet)? They look like they’re working really hard…

Comment by Liz Paley

I love these and don’t think they have failed at all.

Comment by Tracy

You guys are nice. Thanks! I’m not happy with the “Octopus Car Wash” look of these guys but it’s hard to do anything else with them when they’re so small. I’m going to try making larger octopi atop tupperware containers next–specifically an “I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter!” container. See if they can open those…

Comment by cathylybarger

Point the octopodes’ eyes to the side, separated, like the real ones. That’ll change the look of your octupus-jar beads, make them less car-washy.
(And if possible, use horizontal slits for pupils. But at this scale, can it be done?)

Comment by phil

You used octopodes! I thought that was the plural, because of the Greek root, right? (I learned that on Mel and Floyd.) Webster’s does not list that as a plural, only “pi” and “puses”. And if you type in “octopode” they give you the alternate spellings “octopod”, “octoploid” and, inexplicably, “toy poodle”. “Octopodes” is not in their reality. I was going to blog about that. I thought I dreamed octopodes. Thank goodness.

Anyways, If I put upper and lower lids on the ‘pod I can make horiz. eyes. Those eyes are about 1/8″ big so that will be hard, but I will give that another try today. (I should stop drinking coffee if I want to do that.)

Comment by cathylybarger

You’ll never believe where I learned the correct plural (Greek, yes). A footnote in “Mites of Moths and Butterflies” by Asher E. Trent.
Not horizontal *eyes*, horizontal (with upturned ends) *pupils*. The eyes should be pointing sideways, not forward. Like in your christmas-hat octopus.
Bio pedantry off.

Comment by phil

Asher E. Trent is always good read. (I have no idea who that is.)
NERD FRONT COMING IN: You never forget the first time that you hear that “octopus” (or “octopod”) has a Greek root (instead of Latin) and thus a different suffix for the plural.

And kids, take it from me-throwing that bit of information out at a cocktail party makes you sound really smart. So go do it! You might get beat up though–I don’t know what your cocktail parties are like.

I have a new octopus to unveil. I wish I had two. Then I could say “octopodes”. Next time!

Comment by cathylybarger

Just FABULOUS.

Comment by katemckinnon

Thanks Kate! So are you.

Comment by cathylybarger




Leave a Reply

