Aardvark Art Glass


This is becoming not so funny
December 27, 2009, 12:56 pm
Filed under: Bloggidy Blog

I’m still sick. I know that as I’ve aged I’ve taken to describing every garden variety horror/illness/economic downturn as the worst one ever, but I really think this cold is the worst one ever. Don is still sick after 11 days, possibly because he continued to work after he got it. Me, I’m just sitting here quietly going batshit, trying to eat things that contain vitamin C and watching television. Sometimes, as I look at the trashcan overflowing with tissues, I wonder if we are going to be able to clean this house sufficiently so that healthy people will be able to frolic here as they did in times past. It’s going to be a lot of work.

But I digress…like I said, I’ve been watching a lot of TV and I’ve been seeing this thing that I want to talk about here so that it will be documented and I will know that is not a dream. If you have Dish TV you know that there are a lot of superfluous channels to flip by as you toggle between HBO and Cartoon Network..or PBS…whatever you watch. Anyway, while flipping around the last few days, I kept noticing a whole channel devoted entirely to something called “Turn The Tub Around”. I’m acquainted with the practice of companies renting out a channel and playing the same infomercial ad nauseum so I figured that’s what it was about but I did not know what the commercial was for. And I wanted to know.

As it turned out, the commercial was for “I Can’t Believe its Not Butter”. A sort of medium-production thing taking place in a grocery store, Megan Mullally, of all people, stood atop a giant butter container, singing “Turn the Tub Around” (to the tempo of “Turn The Beat Around”) while men dressed like stock boys cavorted about, lifting her on and off the container. Doesn’t that sound like a dream? I guess it was supposed to be a dream Megan Mullally was got lost in while she shopped for butter. It reminds me of a vision I had when I was using E-6000 glue in an unventilated bathroom. I’m pretty sure the “Turn the Tub Around” show is still on if you want to catch it for yourselves. I’m going back to bed.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

