Aardvark Art Glass


Here we go
May 7, 2009, 9:56 am
Filed under: Bloggidy Blog

Decisions have been made about garden configurations. Tractor tires! Of course! Upsides-tractor tire, no bed building required, they’re green and, also,  how happy must we have made the person who donated these to us by taking them off his hands. Downsides-round beds are not real conducive to plants that are supposed to grow in rows and, well, they’re really big and tirey-looking. But there they are and now there’s seeds in ’em so there’s no turning back. The fourth bed, which is last year’s tomato bed, is an actual flat space that’s not in the picture. I’m planting lettuce and spinach there for me lizard. Lizards eat dandelions as well but we don’t have any of those…or grass. Maybe you should just ignore the picture.

We decided to go with the four bed rotating thing-one for the nightshades, one for roots, one for legumes and one for greens. I don’t know why I’m explaining to you what you must already know. Clearly I’m the last one to learn about this gardening method. I have wondered why raised bed gardens ALWAYS came in fours and now I know. That’s the best way to do it. Never mind that I’m not so enthusiastic about roots…or beans really…and, you  know, there’s so damn many bunnies around the greens don’t really stand a chance. In fact, barring some freak expansion of my capicity to love, I can’t really see myself bonding with anything other than the tomatoes. Maybe I’ll get attached to the other plants once they sprout. I’ve never had a multi-species garden before. It’s kind of exciting.

Oh, hey! This is funny. At least I think it’s funny. I was researching plant planting on the web and I came across some tomato instructions on a Martha Stewart-ish looking site. The instructions say that, before planting the tomato plant, you’re supposed to dig down a foot and bury an eggshell, two aspirin and a fish head. That’s supposed to enrich the soil and prevent black end rot but to me it also sounds like a spell that might make that elusive man or woman fall in love with you. I think if you add a few drops of blood or a lock of hair you could use it to smite an enemy or raise the dead. I don’t know…that was all a little TMT (Too Much Trouble) or TMPC (Too Much Plant Coddling) for me. I know that I selected the smartest, strongest and best looking tomato plants the hardware store had to offer and that they will thrive  inside their recycled tractor tire home. I can tell they’re happy to be there already. Because I’m in touch with the tomatoes. The roots and the legumes, not so much.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Maybe some eye of newt would help those tomatoes, too! It’s sounds a bit like some Voodoo concoction that you leave in locker for 2 months before planting it and then pray to Joe-boo for a good tomato season! (I think this is in my mind from the move Major League – Yo, Bartender! Joe-Boo needs a refill!). You should try it on some and not on others so we can figure out if it makes any difference. You could invite us all over bruschetta or something!!! LOL!

Comment by Karen Rorek

Ahahahaha! Yeah that might be interesting to do a control thing with the fish heads. We grow everything in dirt that comes from the city compost pile and our tomato plants are always enormous. They might be trouble if they got any bigger. I’m planting cilantro in a segment of chimney we pulled out of the studio building. Soon I will have salsa and everyone can come over!

Comment by cathylybarger

Blood meal…for your information, just because….
I remember using this on something I planted, roses I think it was, and it isn’t unusual to use blood in gardening:
Blood meal is dried, powdered blood used as a high-nitrogen fertilizer. It is one of the highest non-synthetic sources of nitrogen and if over-applied it can burn plants with excessive ammonia. Blood meal is completely soluble and can be mixed with water to be used as a liquid fertilizer. It usually comes from cattle as a slaughterhouse by-product. It can be spread on gardens to deter animals such as rabbits,or as a composting activator. It may also be used as an animal food supplement.

Comment by Rosanne

Well, that’s good info. Ew, though. I don’t think I can wrap my mind around using blood in my garden. Doesn’t sound prudent. Too many X-Files episodes or horror movies or something.

Comment by cathylybarger




Leave a Reply

