Aardvark Art Glass


i been working, some
March 8, 2009, 5:48 pm
Filed under: Bloggidy Blog

So, I’ve been working on drawings for a possible stained glass job at Great Dane 3, where Don works. Don’t know if it’s going to happen yet, but I hope it does. It’s over 40 square feet of glass honoring four main beer ingredients: barley, hops, water and yeast. Yup, yeast. It’s not much to look at but it’s just as important as the other ingredients so, over ten square feet for yeast. As a whole, this project is an interesting, interesting design problem–more interesting than you realize, probably, especially if you’ve never done stained glass. I did stained glass for what seems like my whole life before I picked up lampworking. In fact, fourteen years ago, before I had a computer or email or anything I did some huge brewing-themed windows for the downtown Great Dane. Know what I used for source pictures for the designs? Books! Archaic! You don’t know the half of it! I remember when all this was just a field! At least I could Google Image pictures of yeast for these, not that that helped much. If I get the job, I’ll pop back on Watch Me Create and write some stuff about it.  It will be interesting process.

Meanwhile, in other news, I guess I’m going to do the Art Glass and Bead Show here in Madison on March 28 and 29. I have exactly almost zero inventory at this point but I’m optimistic about getting some things made by then. My mate JC Herrell is coming up from Tucson for the show so that will be a gas. I suspect that my cash and check only policy is going to go over like a lead balloon but, what can I do? I threw off the yoke of the credit card service providers about a year ago and since I’ve been enjoying having one less thing to worry about. So, Bead Show, end of March, cash or check only. Stop on by!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Google yeast + sem or “scanning electron microscopy” and + confocal or “confocal microscopy” (perhaps ‘microscope’) in Images. You should get more interesting yeast images.
Might have to specify brewer’s yeast.

Comment by phil

Hey Phil-
I like this one a lot http://images.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://pro.corbis.com/images/42-15331698.jpg%3Fsize%3D67%26uid%3D%257B8F63F6A5-CD15-43E1-AB21-75245911654B%257D&imgrefurl=http://pro.corbis.com/search/Enlargement.aspx%3FCID%3Disg%26mediauid%3D%257B8F63F6A5-CD15-43E1-AB21-75245911654B%257D&usg=__b0fRMnYP8Xtbu62zOWLpujR6WBU=&h=479&w=640&sz=84&hl=en&start=2&tbnid=L3p-WimIV2gu0M:&tbnh=103&tbnw=137&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dbrewers%2Byeast%252Bsem%26gbv%3D2%26hl%3Den

(Wish I knew how to link in the comment box.)The yeast window could possibly be a fermenter or a giant cask thing. The problem with that is that it doesn’t really go with the other designs, which are really natural. If we labeled each window with a little sandblasted banner then we could do something like that yeast cell/cluster/whatever that is. That’s something to think about.

Comment by cathylybarger

Nice indeed. And royalty-free. The bud scars (the circular things) look like coasters for beer steins. Hm. The chain almost looks like a vine.
That could work …

Comment by phil

We’ll keep it in mind. That micro-yeast thing would be fun to do. Don is not crazy about banners in the design unless the words are in Latin. English words would look funny (because it’s really super obvious what three of the four ingredients are). Latin words would look cool but they have double the number of letters, at least. Drunk people would be squinting at them saying “What the hell does that say?”. I worry about the audience. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Comment by cathylybarger




Leave a Reply

