Aardvark Art Glass


i suspect foul play
January 14, 2009, 11:37 pm
Filed under: Bloggidy Blog | Tags: , ,

There were feathers and little chunks of bird all over our front porch this morning. And on the stairs. And on the snowbank in the front yard. No tracks to be seen anywhere, which is weird because it just snowed. Tres mysterious! I suspect cat, but the lack of evidence kind of points to spontaneous bird explosion.

(Side note: Isn’t our kitchen floor great? That linoleum stopped responding to cleaning years ago. I have high, high hopes of laying down tile there, someday. This side note was brought to you by the letter “D”.)

So, the cold weather is gripping the mid-west again. I am once again digging around in my activity bowl trying to find something to do. I’m down to the twin horrors of doing taxes or cleaning the studio. Shit. I don’t want to do either of those and yet I must do both. Tax doing naturally causes a flurry of cleaning as I retrace my steps for the past year trying to find post office receipts. Gotta do that sometime. I’ll let you know if I find anything interesting on the floor when I clean.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I am also doing taxes… my house appears to have been hit by a paper bomb, I have the appointment with my accountant in 5 hours, I haven’t found many of my receipts yet and I am still in my pyjamas surfing the internet for distraction! You have my sympathy 🙂

Comment by Judith Johnston

Could be a falcon. There are Peregrines in Madison, and I remember finding the tell-tale “2 wings and a hollowed torso” more than once.
Should also be Cooper’s hawks, I think, and they also nab birds.
Taxes. I still haven’t received all the paperwork I need to properly procrastinate doing mine.

Comment by phil

Hi Judith
Our accountant wants our taxes by Jan 20th, which seems kind of early, though, with the self-employed ness there isn’t really any reason you can’t get them done by then.I just have to exhaust every last thing to do avenue before starting. The week of extreme cold helps. I don’t think I’d get anything done that I did not want to do if I lived in a warm climate.
Good luck with yours!

Comment by cathylybarger

Hey Phil-
A bird of prey! That could be exciting. I don’t care much for cats eating birds but there’s something National Geographic Special about birds eating birds. I’d watch that. Except there weren’t any parts left over except for hunks of feathers. But a bird would explain the lack of footprints around the site of what appears to have been a mighty struggle. I’m going to go with that explanation.
Thanks, man!

Comment by cathylybarger




Leave a Reply

