Aardvark Art Glass


drama
December 14, 2008, 1:29 pm
Filed under: Bloggidy Blog

Awwwww…look at him. Me and Jeb have been eating pepperoni pizza for the last three days. I feel ok but Jeb wasn’t looking so good Friday when it was really cold–he gets really slow and sad looking. He’s so tiny, too, I just worry about him. Anyway, I thought our diet might be part of the problem so today I went to the co-op and got us a chicken. Jeb got the neck and giblets in his spiffy new dish. (Yes, I have had a lot of time on my hands since Don’s been gone.)

There’s a sort of uncool wrinkle in the opossum saga. I watched Jeb eat tonight, then he went away, then I went away. I came back a couple of hours later and saw Jeb back at the bowl, wolfing it down–except it wasn’t Jeb. It was actually a much larger opossum-a more aggressive eater. I looked to the right to see the real Jeb hiding behind a decorative brick near the wall. So now I have that to contend with–some big opossum is bullying Jeb. No wonder he’s so little, poor guy. I wonder if it’s his mom. They look really similar.

So, in addition to Jeb not getting all of the food intended for him, the other bad thing about this situation is: one small opossum on the porch good, two opossums on the porch (or one on the porch and one pacing furtively across the driveway) not so good. For real, two opossums at the same time looks like an infestation. I didn’t sign up for that. Also, I don’t know if we produce enough scraps to feed two. I’m already eating more than I usually do just to keep Jeb in crusts and giblets. Too late now to stop messing with things, I guess. We’ll just have to see how it all plays out.

Oh yeah. I almost forgot–there’s a sale in the Etsy store. Out with the old, I say.

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You know, I hate to be the one to point this out, but when you start leaving entrails out in a nice dish in the winter, uh, I’m not sure what you expected OTHER than an infestation of opossums, rats, and anything else that is hungry.

You might rethink this whole Jeb thing, but then you did paint that cute dish and all…

Comment by kate mck

Hiya Kate!
We’re not in a particularly wild life rich zone so I did not expect a second possum. Squirrels are around but sightings of anything else are really infrequent. We just want to help Jeb through the winter and get rid of our old hedgehog food. No other animal will eat that stuff-we’ve tried. Entrails are a sometimes food. The second a rat shows up it’s game over.

I appreciate you pointing out the dumbassed-ness of my current actions. I guess I’d rather hear it from you than anyone. I’m kind of surprised more people haven’t said the same thing.

Comment by cathylybarger

Make a chicken wire cage for the food bowl, with an opening just big enough for Jeb. Nail to the porch.
So you should only get Jeb and rats, then. No big opossums.

Comment by phil

Well, that would solve one problem. Maybe a titanium cage. Opossums have really strong jaws. I’ve seen them eat tinfoil and plastic milk jugs.(On that note: it is no wonder that they have such short life spans–it’s almost like they don’t want to live.)

Still, I am not worried about rats. I’m not even going to asterik that sentence-that’s how not worried I am. Desireable food is only around for hours before Jeb or opossum 2 eats it. I’m more worried about the two of them duking it out over something. Since this is the most popular blog topic this year, full disclosure of any and all animals that visit the bowl will be made.

Comment by cathylybarger

I’m not surprised…lol!

Comment by Rosanne

You and James and Kate are the only three people who aren’t enabling me re: the opossum feeding. If you guys weren’t here I’d really be running amok.

Comment by cathylybarger




Leave a Reply

