Aardvark Art Glass


got photoshop.
October 19, 2008, 1:55 pm
Filed under: Bloggidy Blog | Tags: , , ,

My Photoshop is back! Hooray! I screwed around a good part of the day yesterday trying to install it. Don finally got it to install today. Apparently there were some programs in my start up collective that were causing it to not open. I never would have thought of that. Anyway, it’s back and Don is great. Now I can show you a picture of a mirror I made for the bathroom.

That’s the mirror outside. This is it in the bathroom:

That’s some hard to photograph glass, there. The little fused tiles are made of black irridized Bullseye and dichroic glass. You glue the dicro on (coated side up) and fuse the pieces face down on fiber paper to make the dichroic sink in flush with the irridized rectangles. Then you grind it and solder it together like a stained glass window. Pretty slick and pretty simple. I used to make these all the time for the shop. They’re purty.

SO, did you know that elephants can recoginze their own reflections in mirrors? That fun fact was on an all-animal episode of CBS This Morning. A teaser for the show promised a picture of a cuttlefish and a film clip of a cute little hedgehog so, of course, I watched the whole thing thinking that there would be more cuttlefish and more hedgehog where that came from. And, of course, there wasn’t because the show was too busy concentrating on…what do you think? Dolphins and monkeys. Always with the dolphins and the monkeys. That grinds my gears-CBS using a hedgehog to lure me in.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Wow… I think that is the most gorgeous mirror I’ve ever seen in my life! I’m wildly envious (can I get one?) 🙂 🙂 🙂

I always wistfully pined for the one that a friend’s girlfriend (who was named Susan; he dated like 3 different Susans, one after the other, and the joke in his circle was that he picked the replacement girls mainly for their name, so he wouldn’t goof up and call them another girl’s name… he insisted it was coincidental,) made herself, and I never have seen one to beat it all hollow, until now. !!!!!!

Susan ran a feather mask booth at “Faire” (RenFaire) and she created a booth display mirror… she glued hundreds of greeny-black feathers all around a medium sized mirror and hid the bottom quill part (where the feathers met the mirror) with heavy lustrous black silk braid… it was lovely, (wistful sigh,) but she got p.o.ed if anyone admired it or -God forbid!- wanted to BUY it(!), because it was, “ONLY so people can see themselves in my MASKS! I’m NOT in the MIRROR business! What is wrong with everybody that they only want my *mirror*?!!” (etc., etc.)

Anyway, I coveted that mirror (shimmering tantalizingly in my memory) for YEARS, and now I’ve got a new mirror fantasy instead… yours beats hers BIGTIME! 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

Well, just thought you’d like to know you are inspiring covetous thoughts like mad!

ANNIE 🙂

Comment by Annie :)

Thanks for the compliment! I know just how your friend feels–re: people drooling over your display and not your merchandise. My mirrors are usually for sale, so that solves that, but I have a little solar powered spinning display that people always go ape-shit over at shows. At least they’re noticing something, I try to always think. I do the same thing they do at shows so I can’t really complain. I try to be a little more discreet about it,though.

Comment by cathylybarger




Leave a Reply

