Aardvark Art Glass


The New Martini
January 16, 2008, 2:00 pm
Filed under: Bloggidy Blog | Tags: , , ,

Last night I sat up shredding a grocery bag full of credit card receipts that I accumulated while the store was open. Slow going, that. I thought that the thermal paper they were printed on was supposed to degrade on it’s own but after sitting there for four years the receipts were still readable. If I ever get that many of them again I’m just going to burn them. That would have been faster and more fun.

Speaking of receipts, our accountant needs the business end of our taxes by January 20. God, how I hate stopping work to do taxes. I’m aware of this deadline every year and still it’s like some horrible, unfair surprise every time it rolls around. This isn’t the most hectic January ever so I guess I don’t have too much to bitch about. Just forget I said anything.

In other news…On January 1st Wisconsin legalized absinthe. I found this an unexpected and odd thing to happen because it  means there are absinthe lobbyists somewhere in the world. I imagine that they have mutton chops and wear monocles and top hats and don’t wake up until noon or so. I tried a tiny bottle of it the other day. Undiluted it tastes like a cross between rubbing alcohol and Listerine. Not so good although, given it’s history with the artist and poet types, I think it’s going to be the new martini. Or maybe, knowing the college crowd, the new Red Bull mixer. They could call it “The Oscar Wild”. (Little absinthe humor for you.)

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

