Aardvark Art Glass


sdrawkcaB gnitirW
December 14, 2007, 1:11 pm
Filed under: Bloggidy Blog | Tags: , , , , , ,

mad tree for sale

Click on the tree!

Yesterday I spent a bunch of time trying to master the art of writing backwards on glass in letters that are about two millimeters high. That seems like the kind of thing one could learn if they practiced, doesn’t it? I’m doing this because I’m trying to reproduce some frames of comic strips that the Lost School wrote eons ago. The comic is called “The Adventures Of Leafman” and there isn’t anything in it that the general public is going to understand or care about. So basically I’m putting a lot of effort into insuring my beads will continue their descent down the ladder of popularity. Why not. In the end it is I who will know how to write backwards on glass in tiny letters. I’m going to lord that over all of you.

In other news…I went to the post office today and noted that they had a new series of stamps celebrating pollination. No, not Polynesia, pollination. On the stamps were pictures of all the great pollinators of the world-hummingbirds, the soon to be extinct bee and even a bat. I was really glad to see bats getting a little good press. They have a hell of a time. Though the purpose of the stamps was probably to raise the public’s bee-awareness, I thought it equally possible that the stamps were a general celebration of animals that help plants get planted. If that’s the case then I think the next stamp series should depict all the different animals that generate plant life by eating seeds and then pooping them out onto the ground. You could have, like…monkeys…and certain birds…I don’t know…maybe people did that too at one time. They may still in warmer climates. Anyway, I think that would be a dandy stamp series. That’s my thought of the day.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hey, can you write the letters on the flip side, in Sharpie or something, and then turn it over and simply trace them backwards with the glass paint?
Kate

Comment by kate mckinnon

Hi Kate!
What I’m doing is scanning the drawing into the computer and flipping it around so it’s backwards an then tracing over that. Even though I’m tracing the backwards letters it’s really hard because I’m trying to maintain the person’s handwriting (which is not the greatest) using this teeny tiny pen tip that I’m not real used to. If you have even the slightest hand tremor you’re boned.
I’m going to post my results today. I had to give up trying to copy the handwriting and ended up using all capital letters.Capitals are more symmetrical and easier to write backwards. The bubbles look great and are easier to read than the originals. Now I just have to get a picture of them.

Comment by cathylybarger

I would be totally boned.

Comment by kate




Leave a Reply

