Aardvark Art Glass


Here Come The Fish.
November 6, 2007, 11:46 am
Filed under: Bloggidy Blog | Tags: , , ,

fish in color

Time for another round of bead making today. I sure hope I don’t destroy these guys.

Yesterday I had an old kiln spring back to life after having been dead for about five years. It’s a little Jewel Box kiln with an infinate control. I used it way back in the day to anneal beads until one day when it just cut out on me and wouldn’t go back on. Now I need it for my little glass paintings. I literally had the phone in my hand to call Evenheat and order some parts for it when I decided to plug it in so I could tell them exactly what was wrong with it. All of a sudden there was nothing wrong with it. It’s the darndest thing. This is way better than the time my broken umbrella started working again. Thanks, Universe!

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Those are freaking cool.

You know, if you leave something alone long enough there is a good chance that it will fix itself.

Comment by Lori G

Really? I wonder if that will work on our house– It’s been left alone for a long time.

Comment by cathylybarger

Cathy,

I LOVE your fish! They have so much personality (not that we’re surprised). I’m wondering if you could make me a decal for my husband’s fishing boat…it’s name is “Bite Me”

Best,
Patty

Comment by Patty

we just left a tv alone for 5 days. Robert learned to spell and say Toshiba. Finally Jim hit the tv a couple of times, and that did it. it works now. what a relief. Now all we have to do is try the same method with our 1,200.00 dryer which is as large as a car, because there are so many of us!!!

Comment by jean

Hi Patty-
Why don’t you email me at aardart@aol.com. I may be able to help you out with your “Bite Me” situation. Excellent boat name, by the way.

Comment by cathylybarger

Jean-
Your comment has set me off on a comment-rant because I too believe that violence can help machines work. Conversely, I also believe that coddling a lazy machine can make it even less effective. Case in point: Our piece of shit IMAC computer. We keep it elevated on a plastic container so it’s little fan won’t have to work so hard to keep it cool. For a while that helped keep it from crashing but now it hardly works at all. Perhaps the container is too hard for it’s delicate underside. Maybe a velvet pillow would be more to it’s liking…or maybe it is trying to tell us that it wants to be run over by a truck. That’s what I think I hear it saying.

While on this topic, something else just occured to me. I have this praise/humiliation system I’ve implemented for the machines I own.(Mostly the computers.) When a machine works well or does something that, for it, was very dificult to do I make it a little badge out of a post-it note that says “I’m Great!” or “I can print a shipping lable!” and them the machine gets to wear the badge. When a machine does not live up to my expectations, which are very low by the way, I make it wear a badge that says “I’m stupid” or “I can’t do anything right”. I imagine that the former is more effective if there are other machines around to see it wearing the “stupid” badge. I don’t know if this improves the machine’s performance but it seems to help me some. You may want to try it on your dryer just before Jim punches it out.

Comment by cathylybarger




Leave a Reply

