Aardvark Art Glass


magnets and phone calls
October 24, 2007, 7:00 pm
Filed under: Bloggidy Blog | Tags: , ,

bottlecaps

I had absolutely nothing to do last night so I poured a bunch of those little bottlecap magnet thingies that I had been giving away with away with bead purchases. I love giving those away but I hate making them. It takes hours. Now I have about a hundred of them so once again you will receive a bottlecap magnet with your Ebay purchase. Hooray! I am doing something after all!

I’m bored. Don’s not around to amuse me with his antics. He’s busy brewing beer from sun up to late at night. An arcane state law that prohibited any given brewery from selling it’s beer at more than two locations in a city was just lifted. The Great Dane has been waiting for this to happen since they built a third pub about a year ago. While this means nothing to normal people it is very big news here.

Anyway, in an effort to entertain myself at home I decided to answer the phone when it rang. One call that I got was from a collection agency trying to find a guy who lived in our house before we bought it two years ago. The weird thing about it was that it was automated. It was just a voice requesting that Nicholas somebody get in touch with such and such collection agency. I wonder how much success they’re having with that strategy? No one listens to automated phone calls. I only listened because an automated call from a collection agency sounded like one of those worst idea ever things that I like to talk about in the blog.

That’s all I got for you today…except for this picture of a flower that Don made out of a summer sausage casing.

14 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You said “one of the callls”, what were the other phone calls abute? (abute? = about boot?) Discuss…

Comment by sp

Hi there! My first comment on your blog, I do believe…

Does Don sell his brew then? I did not know this about you. My hubby, Chuck is an amatuer brewer. He likes to make (and drink) a dark scotch ale.

I greatly dislike the phone.

Comment by Melanie

SP-
In an odd coincidence, the second call (2 calls is a very busy phone answering day for me) was also from a collection agency. It did not have a funny upside so I decided not write about it yesterday. A human being this time wanted me to confirm that a certain person lived at a certain address nearby. They were being really sneaky about it too.I said I really didn’t know anyone in the neighborhood. It was very weird and it really honked me off that they were trying to get information out of someone who had nothing to do with the whole situation. I have since stopped answering the phone. I’m still honked off though. Fucking collection agencies should do their own foot work without dragging other people into it.

Comment by cathylybarger

Hi Melanie-
Don works for a chain of brewpubs called the Great Dane Pub and Brewing Co. He is brewmaster at the one on the west side of Madison.He did homebrew at one time but hasn’t in maybe 15 yrs. He gets enough of the brewing at work.
Scotch ale is delicious. You should bring us some of Chuck’s. We have a whole panel of people here ready to critique free beer.

PS. I love the new Halloweeny beads on your site! The 3 part bat RULES! I don’t know how to link to them in a comment box. Everyone, click on Melanie’s name in her comment square to see them. Earthenwood Studios is where they’re at.

Comment by cathylybarger

aww shucks, thanks!

Wow, he is a big time brewer then! Chuck just lugs the propane burner out in the back yard once or twice a year. He would love to do more. He would really love to use his art to work with local and small breweries, in some capacity. He is meetng with a local guy tomorrow, actually.

Dang, I would love to come out to Madison again. We love it there!

Comment by Melanie

anyone know what to do with giant piles of windfall apples? is it a brewing thang?

ps: we get automated collection calls here near the big city of New York too. I just hang up. I also hang up mistakenly on the children’s teachers and anyone else whose real live voices I don’t recognize. It’s getting really awkward!

Comment by jean

There is a special place in Hell reserved for skip tracers (especially those that employ automated calling). I have my own horror story on this subject…harassed by automated calls trying to find someone who is/was absolutely unknown to us. I won’t go into detail, as my blood pressure medication is quite expensive and there’s no point engaging in an exercise which will, without question, negate it’s effects. Suffice to say, there is a special place in Hell reserved for skip tracers.

Comment by Idel

Hi Jean!
I had a belgian beer with a high apple content. It was delicious but it was made by monks who live far away and probably couldn’t come over to pick up you apples. I think if you leave them on the ground they turn into wine on their own. So do socks.
Re: the calling. Like I said, could it be any less effective? WTF?

Comment by cathylybarger

Hi Idel-
I’m glad to know about the special hell place. I hope it isn’t special at all but rather hot and scary like the Econo Lodge in Dayton Ohio in which I briefly stayed last spring. That will learn them.

Comment by cathylybarger

Psst Melanie-
Come here next August for the Great Taste of the Midwest beer fest. You can say it’s a business trip if your husband brings his artwork. Everyone in the industry is there cept they’re usually too busy or tipsy to talk to you about anything.

Comment by cathylybarger

Cathy-

Man, I forgot about that Econo Lodge in Dayton, Ohio! You know, if I’m not mistaken, I think that IS the special place. Isn’t that the place that had no telephones? Hot, scary and ironic all in one.

Comment by Idel

It had telephones but the cords had been ripped out of the wall. When we inquired about why they were in this condition the person at the desk said none of the rooms had phone service because the lines had been hit by lightning last summer. I suspected Hell might be involved so we got out of there.

Comment by cathylybarger

Really nice site you have here. I’ve been reading for a while but this post made me want to say 2 thumbs up. Keep up the great work

Comment by Total Fitness and Health

Thanks, man!

Comment by cathylybarger




Leave a Reply

